How kits have taught me to hoard less 

  
I have officially crafted with a monthly kit for one year. It got me back into scrapbooking after about a 7 year break. It has helped me in many ways, and I’ve become so used to it, it is hard to work without a kit now. 

However, the most important thing I have gained from working with a monthly kit is learning to use new supplies and I actually enjoy using them up. This does not mean that I don’t cherish or love my supplies any less. This also doesn’t mean that I completely stopped hoarding things, but I don’t nearly as much as I used to. 

Cutting a 12×12 paper that I absolutely love was a hard thing to learn to do. I would often find myself thinking that I might have another photograph or project that I might want to use it for in the future. I used to buy duplicates of the same paper because I might need two of them for a future project or I like both sides of it.

In the past year, I have bought just a few duplicates from things I received in my kits. The duplicates are all sitting in my stash right now. Maybe I will learn to stop doing that, but I am proud of myself for only buying a few duplicates. This has also translated to me not buying duplicates in stores.

A big part of learning how to do this was realizing how much I can “stretch” a piece of paper, or a sticker sheet. It is possible to use even a small part of a paper and still have it be highlighted in a layout. 

I also learned that if I ever want to see that paper (or embellishment), all I have to do is look in my album. That sounds so silly, but it is new to me.

When I use that last scrap or last piece of ephemera, I feel satisfied and feel a sense of accomplishment. Again, that sounds silly, but it is new to me.

Knowing that I will receive a new kit filled with new goodies every month reasures me that there will be more “favorites” in the future and I don’t need to hoard what I just got. Receiving the kit every month also pushes me to scrap more and more consistently. I did have a few months where I didn’t touch my kits but I am mostly caught up now. It helps me keep track of time in a way.

I had an a-ha moment (that again sounds so ridiculously obvious but it  was a big moment for me) a few months ago. If I want my stash to shrink, I actually have to use everything new that I get and then some. I looked around my craft room and realized I will never be able to use it all up, even though I bought everything with the intention of using every bit of it. I purged and donated a big lot of my stash after realizing this. 

This is the newest Citrus Twist Kit I have received and I can’t wait to use it all up and see what comes out of it! (It was also a reminder to me that I still have supplies left from last month’s kit and I better get a move on it.) 

Enjoy crafting everyone! 

2 thoughts on “How kits have taught me to hoard less 

  1. Aloha Janet, your thoughts on what you’ve learned is so refreshing and insightful. I have ‘collected’ supplies of all kinds and have made many things. Now that I am retired and on a fixed income, I know that it’s time to use what I have. Fortunately, I lead a group at church who seeks to bless others by making and giving items (mostly sewn or crocheted) to others in need here or where our mission teams travel to share the good news. Ultimately rewarding! My biggest personal project is to create my family albums by the decades. With four kids and seven grandkids, I’ve got my work cut out for me. :).
    Thank you for sharing your heart in your videos, what a journey you’ve been on and I hear gratitude in everything you say. Keep it up, friend.

    Like

    1. What kind words Chiyo! Thank you for your support and encouragement.
      What a wonderful and rewarding group you lead at your church by blessing those in need with handcrafted items.
      That sounds like a big project! Take it one album at a time, one layout at a time, one picture and memory at a time! I often jump around and make layouts here and there and eventually/hopefully complete one album at a time. You keep it up too!!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

