More fun with watercolors & the Pink Paislee Fancy Free collection


I’ve been seeing so many layouts using grid design patterns to fill the whole page. I also don’t  have a die cut machine (What?! Yes, no die cut machine) so I can’t use any of the cute files to fill the page with.

I had cut one of the 12×12 Pink Paislee Fancy Free paper to punch circles in the different designs for another layout. I decided to watercolor behind each square, and use masking fluid to create a tiny heart in each circle. I didn’t wait long enough for the masking fluid to dry before water coloring so I had quite a few boo boos.


I covered the really bad ones with different puffy and enamel hearts I had. I drew an outline around each square so each one would pop out a little more. I did the same around the “Best Ever” banner embellishment.


The rest was super simple. I glued the picture down and wrote a tiny bit using my Signo white pen directly on the photo. I am planning on having an adjacent page (not a double layout, but just with more pictures from the same day) where I will journal more.


Even though I used some floral patterns and feminine colors, using the black and white photo AND having such a big mix of designs, I think it turned out OK for my 18 year old nephew’s birthday picture.

Leave a Reply

