Bright colors and black and white photos

 I never used to use bright colors when scrapbooking (although for other art projects, I normally do use bright colors), but the recent trend seems to be using bright colors and black and white photos. I always felt that using strong colors detracted from the photo(s). Over a decade ago when I first started Scrapbooking, the only time I used black and white photos was for very vintage and distressed looking page designs. I felt that colored pictures didn’t match the background otherwise.

Now, I am seeing how using a black and white photo with loud background designs and bright colors, highlights the photo AND grounds the entire layout. I am having a ton of fun with these colors and new collections!

For this layout, I used 4 ink sprays (Dylusions & Heidi Swapp) on white cardstock for the background design. I also used ephemera and stickers from the new Pink Paislee Fancy Free collection by Paige Evans.

Leave a Reply

